Use caution when using this tip, as it does exactly what it says and there are no second chances. When you delete a file, it's normally moved to the Recycle Bin, where it stays until you empty it. To permanently delete a file and bypass the Recycle Bin, hold down the Shift key while deleting it. You'll get a pop-up window confirming the deletion; if you click Yes, the file is gone for good. So for safety purposes, I'll walk you through permanently deleting an unwanted file from one of your old floppy disks or a thumb drive.
Permanently Deleting Files, Folders And Icons
- Round up an old floppy disk that you are absolutely certain that you do not need any more.
- Then place this old floppy disk into your floppy disk drive in your computer.
- Double click on the My Computer icon on your Desktop until it opens.
- Then double click on your 3½ Floppy (A:) drive until it opens.
- For a thumb drive, double click on its drive letter such as the (E:) drive until it opens.
- Select any file or folder by gently clicking on it just enough until it becomes highlighted.
- Now while holding down the Shift Key on your keyboard, press the delete key on your keyboard.
- You can also click on the tool bar Delete button in while holding down the Shift Key as well.
- Windows will issue a warning asking you if you are sure that you want to delete the file.
- Once again, if you're absolutely sure that it's OK to delete the file then click on the Yes button.
- Your file will be permanently deleted and will not be stored in the Recycle bin.
Note: This Technical Brief Will Work For All Operating Systems Including Windows XP.
You Can Also Recover Files From The Recycle Bin By Reading: How To Recover Files From The Recycle Bin