By default, Windows Vista™ stores your deleted items in the Recycle Bin until you empty them. However, if you wish to no longer have your deleted files sent to the Recycle Bin, you can enable a setting that allows items to be permanently deleted. Here is how you can activate this setting.
To Permanently Delete Windows Vista Recycle Bin Files
- On the desktop, right click directly on the Recycle Bin.
- Then click on Properties and then click on the General tab.
- Now locate the Do not move files to the Recycle Bin (Remove files immediately) option.
- If you are absolutely sure you wish to enable this setting, use your mouse to check the box.
- Then click on OK to apply the settings.
- Windows Vista will then no longer move deleted files, folder and items to the Recycle Bin.
Note: If the Do not move files to the Recycle Bin check box is selected, you will not be able to recover any items that you delete. Therefore, you should use this setting with extreme caution.