bannerwelcome
Search Real Knowledge
View Sitemap | Search Tips
 Home   Advertise  File Downloads Computer Center Windows XP Tips Vista Tips  Glossary  News Letters  Resources 

How To Flush The System Restore Folder Contents

Beginning with Windows Millennium, Microsoft added functionality for us to restore our computer to a previous state if a problem occurs after installing a particular software program or driver. This built in System Restore feature monitors changes to our system and it automatically creates restore points for us. These restore points are created daily and during the times when an application or driver is installed. If you choose to use the System Restore feature, you can do so without losing your vital data files such as those items contained in the My Documents directory etc. But the area where these restore points are stored can take up a huge amount of space on your disk drive over time. Therefore, this technical brief will show you how to flush out the System Restore contents, which will free up more space on your disk drive.

line

For Windows XP

  1. Go into your Control Panel by first clicking on the Start Button.
  2. Then click on the Control Panel icon located in the right column of the Start Menu.
  3. If your Start Menu is set to the Classic View, then begin by clicking on the Start Button.
  4. Then click on Settings, then click on the Control Panel icon to open up the Control Panel.
  5. Now, Double click on the System icon to open up the System Properties window.
  6. Then click on the System Restore tab located at the top of the screen.
  7. Now place a check mark in the box next to Turn off System Restore.
  8. Then click the Apply button at the bottom of the screen.
  9. Windows will ask you if you want to turn off System Restore.
  10. Click on the Yes button to allow Windows to turn off System Restore.
  11. Your restore points will now be removed from your system.
  12. Now remove the check mark in the box next to Turn off System Restore.
  13. Notice how you can adjust the slider bar to allocate Disk space usage.
  14. Adjust the slider bar according to your personal preference.
  15. Then click the OK button to save your settings and exit the System Properties window.

For Windows Millennium

  1. Go into your Control Panel by first clicking on the Start Button.
  2. Then click on Settings and then click on the Control Panel icon.
  3. Double click on the System icon to open up the System Properties window.
  4. Now click on the Performance tab located at the top of the screen.
  5. Then click on the File System button located at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Now click on the Troubleshooting tab located at the top of the screen.
  7. Then place a check mark in the box next to Disable System Restore.
  8. Now click the OK button located at the bottom of the screen.
  9. Then click the Close button to exit the System Properties window.
  10. Windows will inform you to restart your computer for the changes to take effect.
  11. Click on the Yes button to allow Windows to restart your System.
  12. Your restore points will now be removed from your system.
  13. When Windows restarts, follow the above procedure to return to the System Restore area.
  14. Now remove the check mark in the box next to Disable System Restore.
  15. Now click the OK button located at the bottom of the screen.
  16. Then click the Close button to exit the System Properties window.
  17. Windows will inform you to restart your computer for the changes to take effect.
  18. Click on the Yes button to allow Windows to restart your System.
  19. When Windows restarts, you System Restore folder size will be dramatically reduced.
  20. And Windows will begin keeping track of all Restore points from this date forward again.
line

Want To Get The Best Prices Available?
line
E-Mail
Darren@nypoet.com